Homemade Lotion

What do Live Vegans put on their skin?

 

Well, anything they want.  But the more conscious ones may try this ..

 

The general ingredients:
-coconut oil
-other oil
-pure water
Optional: essential oils like linden, rose, lavender, and the like.

 

The ‘other oil’ can be anything, like: almond, grapeseed, hemp, olive, wheatgerm, or some other.

 

You can also add other ingredients like shea butter or aloe vera gel.  Like the essential oil .. this is a personal preference (what works good on your skin).  Additionally, you can add beeswax (for thickener), but I don’t think it’s necessary; but I don’t like wax on my veggies let alone my skin.

 

Basic method:
-Warm the pure water
-Warm the coconut oil
I do both in the dehydrator.
-Mix in the other oil
-Put into container (a recycle pump container or glass jar, tupperware, and the like).

 

This is true kitchen chemistry.  Lots of trial and error, so make small amounts to start (like teaspoon amounts); and jot it down!  If you find a combo that works for you, you want to be able to recreate it.

 

Namaste and Peace Out!

Yoginiji

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Arnie Welber
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 13:44:36

    🙂

    Reply

  2. Christine
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 13:45:49

    AWESOME!!!!!

    Reply

  3. Christine
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 13:47:09

    Question: How long does it last?

    Reply

    • Raw Yogini
      Feb 22, 2011 @ 15:27:41

      I apply my homemade lotion once a day if Im in the house. If I have been outside, exposed to toxins, I will wash my face and reapply. Otherwise, homemade lotions seem to last a really long time (to me at least); or at least, they certainly last longer than store bought ones.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

